West Coast District Municipality

Located north of the City of Cape Town and nestled between the Atlantic Ocean and the majestic Cederberg mountain ranges, the West Coast District Municipality comprises five local municipalities: Bergrivier Municipality, Cederberg Municipality, Matzikama Municipality, Saldanha Bay Municipality and Swartland Municipality.

The purpose of WCDM and the five affiliates (local municipalities), is to share the responsibility for local government in their areas, and to ensure that all communities, particularly disadvantaged communities, have equal access to resources and services.

WCDM assist local municipalities, who don’t have the capacity in finances, facilities, staff or knowledge to provide them with services to enhance their communities.

Key functions of the WCDM

  • develop the district as a whole;
  • Municipal health services for the area;
  • bulk supply of water; electricity; sewerage purification and disposal, as well as;
  • fire-fighting services for the whole region;
  • promoting local tourism in the district; and
  • provision of good infrastructure.

Website: http://www.westcoastdm.co.za/

See also: West Coast Business Development Forum

Related to West Coast District Municipality

Road between Piketberg and Velddrif officially open

The project is set to significantly change the future prospects of the West Coast District, and Piketberg in particular.

NDT and WCDM capacitates tourism stakeholders

The National Department of Tourism (NDT) in partnership with the West Coast District Municipality (WCDM), facilitated a Capacity Building Workshop for the tourism sector in the West Coast region.

Projects prioritised for development in the West Coast district

Priority developments planned within each of the five local municipalities of the West Coast District opens up new opportunities for investors.

Your Name (required)

Your Email (required)


Your Message