Tuesday, February 27, 2024
HomeAfrica investor (Ai)Africa investor releases African Infrastructure Investment Awards shortlist

Africa investor releases African Infrastructure Investment Awards shortlist

Africa investor (Ai), a leading international investment and communications group, today announced the highly-anticipated release of the shortlisted candidates for the 2017 Ai Infrastructure Investment Awards. The Summit and Awards take place on 2 May at the Southern Sun Maharani Hotel in Durban, South Africa.

The Ai Infrastructure Investment Awards are a unique platform for infrastructure investors, financiers, operators and governments in Africa’s fast-growing infrastructure sector to gauge and compare their performance, achievements and investment success stories. The 2017 Ai Awards will showcase African public and private sector project investment innovations and the growing international competitiveness of African infrastructure as an investible asset class.

Commenting on the awards shortlist Hubert Danso, Ai, CEO and Vice-Chairman said, “Africa investor is delighted to note we are successfully attracting and are seeing many new entrants participating in Africa’s infrastructure investment opportunities. We wish all the nominees success.”

The prestigious, highly sought after Ai Infrastructure Investment Awards formally recognise achievements across the main infrastructure sectors in Africa. The Awards reward the institutions and personalities driving transactions and improving the continent’s infrastructure investment climate.

See below for the full shortlist:

Infrastructure Regulator of the Year
  1. Infrastructure Concession Regulatory Commission (Nigeria)
  2. ICT Authority (Kenya)
  3. Ethiopian Energy Agency
  4. National Energy Regulator of South Africa
  5. National Transport and Safety Authority (NTSA) – Kenya
  6. Regional Electricity Regulators Association of Southern Africa (RERA)
  7. ECOWAS Regional Electricity Regulatory Authority
  8. National Communications Authority (NCA) – Ghana
  9. Energy and Water Utilities Regulatory Authority (EWURA)
Legal Advisor of the Year
  1. Clifford Chance
  2. Gide Loyrette Nouel
  3. Linklaters
  4. Norton Rose Fulbright
  5. Fasken Martineau
  6. Simmons & Simmons
  7. Baker & McKenzie
  8. Bowman Gilfillan
  9. Webber Wentzel
  10. DLA Piper
Advisor of the Year
  1. EISER Infrastructure Partners
  2. Macquarie
  3. PWC
  4. DBSA
  5. Fieldstone
  6. Anjarwalla & Khanna (A&K) – Kenya
  7. Accession Investment Management
  8. Standard Chartered Bank
  9. KPMG Project Advisory
  10. Deloitte
Bank Arranger of the Year
  1. African Development Bank Group (AfDB)
  2. Macquarie Capital
  3. Guarantco
  4. Barclays Africa
  5. Standard Chartered Africa
  6. Nedbank
  7. FBN Capital
  8. Development Bank of Southern Africa (DBSA)
  9. Standard Bank of South Africa
  10. RMB
PPP Champion of the Year
  1. Mainstream Renewable Power
  2. Enel
  3. NAREVA Holding
  4. ACWA Power International
  5. Impregilo
  6. Themis
  7. GreenWish Capital
  8. Engie
  9. Orascom Construction Industries
  10. Endeavor Energy
Social Infrastructure Deal of the Year
  1. Engie
  2. GE
  3. Africa Finance Corporation,
  4. InfraMed Management
  5. Actis
  6. RMB
  7. Nedbank
  8. DBSA
  9. AFDB
  10. GreenWish Capital
Water Deal of the Year
  1. Impregilo
  2. Norton Rose Fulbright
  3. Simmons & Simmons
  4. Emerging Africa Infrastructure Fund
  5. FMO
  6. Hyflux
  7. Africa Water Facility
  8. Aldwych International
  9. IFC Asset Management Company
  10. Rand Water
Oil & Gas Deal of the Year
  1. Endeavor Energy
  2. Golar LNG Partners
  3. FBN Capital
  4. ACWA Power International
  5. Aldwych International
  6. IFC
  7. Harith
  8. Standard Chartered Bank
  9. Sahara Group
  10. SacOil
ICT/Telecoms Deal of the Year
  1. InfraMed Management
  2. Helios Towers Africa
  3. IHS Plc
  4. Phoenix Capital Management
  5. Carlyle Group
  6. General Electric (GE)
  7. Liquid Telecom Botswana
  8. MainOne
  9. Africa Internet Group (AIG)
  10. IBM
Transport Deal of the Year
  1. African Infrastructure Investment Managers (AIIM)
  2. Colas Group
  3. West Africa Emerging Market Growth Fund
  4. Old Mutual Investment Group
  5. GE Transport
  6. Amethis Finance
  7. Phoenix Capital Management
  8. Public Investment Corporation (SA)
  9. Synergy Capital Managers
  10. Transnet
Power Deal of the Year
  1. Actis
  2. Mainstream Renewable Power
  3. Engie
  4. Nareva Holding
  5. ACWA Power International
  6. Fieldstone
  7. Scatec Solar
  8. African Development Bank
  9. Copperbelt Energy Corp
  10. Aldwych International
  11. RMB – Amandi Energy
Infrastructure Fund of the Year
  1. FutureGrowth
  2. FBN Capital
  3. Pan African Infrastructure Development Fund II
  4. Actis Energy Infrastructure Fund III
  5. Pembani Remgro
  6. African Infrastructure Investment Managers (AIIM)
  7. Africa50
  8. InfraMed Infrastructure
  9. Denham Capital
  10. IFC African, Latin American, and Caribbean Fund
Regional Infrastructure Investment Initiative of the Year
  1. AFDB
  3. African Finance Corporation
  4. Afrexim Bank
  5. Alstom
  6. Salini Impregilo
  7. PTA (Trade and Development Bank)
  8. General Electric (GE)
  9. DFID
  10. World Bank
Pension Fund Infrastructure Investment Initiative of the Year
  1. Government Employees Pension Fund (GEPF)
  2. Public Service Pension Funds (PSPF)
  3. Government Institutions Pension Fund (GIPF)
  4. Eskom Pension and Provident Fund (EPPF)
  5. Sentinel Retirement Fund
  6. Zanzibar Social Security Fund
  7. Debswana Pension Fund (DBF)
  8. Botswana Public Officers Pension Fund
  9. NSSF Uganda
  10. Caisse Generale de Retraite des Agents de l’Etat – Cote d’Ivoire (CGRAE)
Sovereign Wealth Fund Infrastructure Investment Initiative of the Year
  1. FONSIS (Senegalese SWF)
  2. Fonds Souverain de la Republique Gabonaise (Gabon SWF)
  3. Pula Fund (Botswana)
  4. Nigerian Sovereign Investment Authority (NSIA)
  5. Fundo Soberano de Angola (FSDEA)
  6. Ithmar Capital (Morocco)
  7. Natural Gas Reserve Fund (Tanzania)
  8. Fund for the Regulation of Receipts (Algeria)
  9. Petroleum Holding Fund (Ghana)
  10. Agaciro Development Fund (Rwanda)

The Ai Infrastructure Investment Awards will take place during the annual Ai African Pension and Sovereign Wealth Fund Leaders’ Summit, which is the calendar event and premier business development forum for pension funds, trustees, investment consultants, sovereign wealth funds and institutional investors.

The Ai African Pension and Sovereign Wealth Fund Leaders’ Summit will take place on the 2 May 2017 at the Southern Sun Maharani Hotel in Durban, South Africa.


For more information on the Summit, visit www.aiswpfs.com or contact Africa investor.


Investment Projects

Business News


Recent News